Five tips for car dealerships to make video chat with customers a success

Video chats or livestreams in the course of buying a car are practical and trendy. This way, direct contact with the customer is maintained, not only during shutdowns or lockdowns.  

In addition, almost everyone uses applications such as WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger or Apple Facetime on their smartphone. Video chats have long been established on the customer side - now video chat is also conquering car sales.  

The following five tips will help you to make a video chat or livestream successful. 

Tip 1: Data protection compliant work with video chats 

At the latest since the entry into force of the GDPR, customers are reacting more critically and questioning what is happening with their data. The above-mentioned messengers in particular do not adequately meet the requirements of the GDPR in this regard. As convenient as it may seem: As a car dealership, you are treading on thin ice if you rely on these solutions. Make sure you are legally compliant on the road.  

We have chosen high encryption and security for video chat through direct connection between you and the client. 

Tip 2: Video chat preparation is half the battle 

Depending on the sales situation, it makes sense to prepare for the event. If you use the video chat as a livestream to present a vehicle to your customer, it is advisable to take a closer look: 

  • Schedule a video chat in advance so that both the client and you are committed to it.¬†
  • The car to be presented is clean and dry.¬†
  • Sunlight is more of an enemy than a friend for videos. Place the illuminated vehicle under a roof or in the showroom (the sun casts shadows, creates reflections and sometimes unattractive light reflexes).¬†
  • Ensure free access to the vehicle so that you can also walk all around with your camera.¬†
  • Test in advance whether your wireless or WLAN connection is sufficient to stream smoothly.¬†

Tip 3: See and be seen 

Two things are crucial to showcase you and your product visually well: Camera and light. Modern smartphones are well suited for demonstrating a car via livestream. With entry-level phones, you should test beforehand whether the camera quality is sufficient. 

In terms of lighting, the most important thing is good illumination (also in the interior) and the avoidance of backlighting. Abrupt scene changes and unsteady camera work cause confusion for the viewer and appear unprofessional. 

Tip 4: The tone makes the music 

As a car salesman, you play a leading role in your "film". Because a car doesn't sell itself. In this respect, as in the "real" sales talk, it depends on your words and their effect. 

But there is more to it than what you say (more on this in point 5). In order for your customer to understand you well, you need good sound, good acoustics. So the how is also crucial. As a good communicator, you should pay attention to how what you say comes across to your counterpart. Instead of using the microphone built into your mobile phone, it is better to use an external device. This will optimise the sound of your recordings. 

Tip 5: Storytelling and relationship in video chat

You cannot or can only partially recognise the reactions of your audience. Therefore, a convincing approach to the presentation of the vehicle is needed on your part. 

On the one hand, ask specific questions and involve the audience. This loosens things up and gives your counterpart the feeling that he or she is being taken seriously.  

In addition, captivate your participants with good stories. For example, tell something about the vehicle and its history, the previous owner, the origin of the model series or what sets the vehicle apart from the competition. Create a smile, a feeling of "this one or no one".  

Find the right moment to highlight the excellent service at your dealership.  

In this way, you give the customer the opportunity to identify with the vehicle and your dealership. He can get to know you better and build a relationship with you. The trust created is the basis for a purchase decision. 

Any more questions? Would you like more information? We look forward to hearing from you.

Feel free to contact us today to discuss your challenges and to learn more about whether Automanager is the right tool for you.
Our tip
On trend
Recommended articles

F√ľnf Tipps f√ľr Autoh√§user, um den Videochat mit Kunden zum Erfolg zu machen

Artikel teilen

Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Videochats oder Livestreams im Zuge des Autokaufs sind praktisch und angesagt. Nicht nur bei Shutdowns oder Lockdowns bleibt so der direkte Kontakt zum Kunden erhalten.  

Au√üerdem¬†nutzt fast jeder auf seinem Smartphone Anwendungen wie WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger oder Apple¬†Facetime.¬†Videochats¬†ist auf Kundenseite¬†l√§ngst etabliert¬†‚Ästjetzt erobert Videochat auch den¬†Autoverkauf.¬†¬†

Die folgenden f√ľnf Tipps helfen Ihnen, einen Videochat oder Livestream erfolgreich zu gestalten.¬†

1. Tipp: Datenschutzkonformes Arbeiten bei Videochats 

Sp√§testens seit Inkrafttreten der DSGVO reagieren Kunden kritischer und hinterfragen, was mit ihren Daten¬†passiert. Insbesondere die oben erw√§hnten¬†Messenger erf√ľllen die Anforderungen der DSGVO in dieser Hinsicht unzureichend. So bequem es auch erscheinen mag: Als Autohaus begeben Sie sich auf d√ľnnes Eis, wenn Sie auf diese L√∂sungen vertrauen.¬†Achten Sie darauf, rechtskonform unterwegs zu sein.¬†¬†

Wir haben uns¬†beim Videochat f√ľr hohe Verschl√ľsselung und Sicherheit durch¬†direkte Verbindung zwischen Ihnen und dem Kunden¬†entschieden.¬†

2. Tipp: Videochat Vorbereitung ist die halbe Miete 

Je nach Verkaufssituation macht es Sinn, sich auf das Event vorzubereiten. Wenn Sie den Videochat als Livestream nutzen, um Ihrem Kunden ein Fahrzeug zu präsentieren, empfiehlt es sich, genauer hinzuschauen: 

  • Terminieren Sie einen Videochat vorab, damit sowohl der Kunde als auch Sie sich verbindlich darauf einstellen. 
  • Das zu pr√§sentierende Auto ist sauber und trocken. 
  • Sonnenlicht ist f√ľr Videos eher Feind als Freund. Stellen Sie das Fahrzeug beleuchtet unter ein Dach bzw. in den Ausstellungsraum (Sonne wirft Schatten, erzeugt Spiegelungen und teilweise unsch√∂ne Lichtreflexe). 
  • Sorgen Sie f√ľr freien Zugang zum Fahrzeug, sodass Sie auch rundherum mit Ihrer Kamera gehen k√∂nnen. 
  • Testen Sie vorab, ob Ihre Funk- oder WLAN-Verbindung ausreicht, um ruckelfrei zu streamen. 

3. Tipp: Sehen und gesehen werden 

Zwei Dinge sind entscheidend, um Sie und Ihr Produkt visuell gut in Szene zu setzen: Kamera und Licht. Moderne Smartphones sind gut daf√ľr geeignet, ein Auto per Livestream zu demonstrieren. Bei Handys der Einstiegskategorie sollten Sie vorher testen, ob die Kameraqualit√§t ausreichend ist. 

In Bezug auf Licht kommt es vornehmlich auf gute Ausleuchtung (auch im Innenraum) und die Vermeidung von Gegenlicht an. Abrupte Szenenwechsel und eine unruhige Kameraf√ľhrung sorgen beim Zuschauer f√ľr Verwirrung und wirken unprofessionell. 

4. Tipp: Der Ton macht die Musik 

Als Autoverk√§ufer spielen Sie eine Hauptrolle in Ihrem ‚ÄěFilm‚Äú. Denn ein Auto verkauft sich nicht von allein. Insofern kommt es, wie im ‚Äěechten‚Äú Verkaufsgespr√§ch auch, auf Ihre Worte und deren Wirkung an. 

Doch es geht um mehr als das, was Sie sagen (dazu mehr in Punkt 5). Damit Ihr Kunde Sie gut verstehen kann, braucht es guten Ton, gute Akustik. Auch das Wie ist somit entscheidend. Als guter Kommunikator achten Sie also darauf, wie das Gesagte bei Ihrem Gegen√ľber ankommt. Nutzen Sie statt des im Handy eingebauten Mikrofons besser ein externes Ger√§t. Damit l√§sst sich der Sound Ihrer Aufnahmen optimieren. 

5. Tipp: Storytelling und Beziehung im Videochat

Die Reaktionen Ihrer Zuschauer k√∂nnen Sie nicht oder nur teilweise erkennen. Daher braucht es Ihrerseits eine √ľberzeugende Vorgehensweise bei der Pr√§sentation des Fahrzeuges. 

Stellen Sie zum einen gezielt Fragen und binden Sie damit die Zuschauer mit ein. Das sorgt f√ľr Auflockerung und gibt Ihrem Gegen√ľber das Gef√ľhl, ernst genommen zu werden.  

Ziehen¬†Sie Ihre Teilnehmer¬†dar√ľber hinaus¬†mit guten Geschichten¬†in Ihren Bann.¬†Erz√§hlen Sie¬†z. B.¬†etwas √ľber das¬†Fahrzeug und seine Vorgeschichte, zum Vorbesitzer, zur Entstehung der Modellreihe¬†oder¬†was das Fahrzeug vom Wettbewerb abhebt.¬†Erzeugen Sie ein Schmunzeln, ein Gef√ľhl von ‚Äěden oder keinen‚Äú.¬†¬†

Finden Sie den passenden Moment, um den ausgezeichneten Service in Ihrem Autohaus hervorzuheben.  

So geben Sie dem Kunden die¬†M√∂glichkeit, sich mit dem Fahrzeug¬†und Ihrem Autohaus¬†zu identifizieren. Er kann Sie n√§her kennenlernen und eine Beziehung zu Ihnen aufbauen. Das geschaffene Vertrauen ist die Grundlage f√ľr eine Kaufentscheidung.¬†

Noch mehr Fragen? W√ľnschen Sie Infos? Wir freuen uns auf Sie.

Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne noch heute, um Ihre Herausforderungen zu besprechen und um mehr dar√ľber zu erfahren, ob der Automanager das richtige Tool f√ľr Sie ist.
Unser Tip
On trend
Empfohlene Artikel